2017 Youth of the Year

3/18/2017 |

2017 Youth of the Year Brooke Chisholm and her family

Last week the Club was pleased to award the 2017 Youth of the Year award to Brooke Chisholm. Brooke is a junior at Ludlow High School and has been a member of the Club since 2006. She has been involved with numerous Club activities over the years from basketball, swimming, and fitness programs to participating in events like the Rag Shag parades and Father-Daughter dances. Brooke impressed the panel of judges with her poise, her commitment to the Club, and her personal quote "Be the one to inspire others." 

As the Club's Youth of the Year winner, Brooke will now be eligible to compete for Youth of the Year at the state level, where she will be eligible for college scholarships. Good luck, Brooke!

To be eligible for Youth of the Year, candidates must be Club members between the ages of 14-18 and must serve as role models to other members in terms of academic excellence, leadership and service, and healthy lifestyle choices. Each applicant must write several essays, receive letters of recommendation, and meet with a panel of judges who assess their public speaking and interview skills.

In short, it is not easy to become a candidate. This year we had six outstanding candidates who all deserve praise for their hard work.

Congratulations to the 2017 Youth of the Year nominees:

Amaka Agozino

Morgan Cavanaugh

Alex Szarkowski

Cameron Szarkowski

Lauren Teixeira

Thank you also to our panel of judges:

Board President, Richard Maynard

Board Emeriti, Karen Randall

Honorary Board Member, Maria Gomes

Corporator, David Pare

State Representative, Thomas Petrolati


Post a Comment